anderson's Puzzle Blog

Puzzle 14: Number In Order

with 6 comments

This is a Number in Order puzzle, originally created by chaotic_iak to the best of my knowledge; see here for the rules.

(yay pi)

Notes: Has it really been over 2 months? Man, that’s a really long time. My only excuses are college applications, homework, and laziness, but I really ought to construct more, just because the process is so fun. I don’t want to make any hard schedule, but I’ll definitely try to make at least 1 puzzle a week from now on.

Anyways, this puzzle may be on the hard side, but it can be solved using direct logic. I think this puzzle type does have potential for some pretty fun deductions and variations, though I’m not sure how far it can actually go.

Finally, and most importantly, I’ll be headed off to Cambridge in a few hours to the MIT Mystery Hunt this weekend. I’ve been looking forward to it for about the past 362 days, so it’s pretty exciting. Hope I’ll see some of you there!

Written by qzqxq

January 12, 2012 at 11:11 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yay Number In Order! Thanks for using some puzzle type I invented!

    At a first glance, it seems that there’s no break-ins or something. And well I haven’t worked on it; I’m tired now. But it seems nice and pretty and such… I’m a terrible puzzle-maker -_-

    Anyway, you know what this means to me? I think I get a flare to make more puzzles (or probably invent more puzzle types 😛 ), so expect something either in my blog or in my website when this heap of school work is done…like in three or four months. (Hey yeah, here in my school, you need to write some paper or something that should be done later in college (though the tuned down version). You have three months to do it; I don’t even think that’s enough. And I’m only at the 11th grade.)

    chaotic_iak

    January 13, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    • If you want a hint, try to (rot 13’d) pbafvqre jurer fbzr ahzoref, rfcrpvnyyl barf naq avarf, pna tb va gur frpbaq naq rvtugu ebjf.

      qzqxq

      January 18, 2012 at 5:58 am

  2. you didnt make a “number in order” if chaotic_iak really means it when he says “largest number is determined by the length of the run of cells” , in his description of the rules. Watch column 6 .The run is 8-long and you put a 9 there!

    Anuraag Sahay

    January 20, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    • I think “largest number” means the largest number that can appear anywhere in the grid, so in this case, all numbers just need to be 1-9. If you look at chaotic_iak’s example puzzle, for example, a 2-long run consists of the numbers 2 and 3.

      qzqxq

      January 20, 2012 at 7:16 pm

  3. Ok, clear now.

    Anuraag Sahay

    January 21, 2012 at 6:00 am

  4. Because said rules page might be removed sooner or later (I no longer use that blog), here’s a copy of rules.

    Define a run of white cells as contiguous white cells in the same row/column that are bounded by either edges or black cells; let the longest of these be N cells long. Put an integer between 1 and N inclusive in each white cell such that for each run of white cells, the numbers are consecutive. (In particular, no numbers in a single run of white cells are equal.)

    Example (very crude; view this with a monospace font (Courier New for example)):
    ..1#1
    1.#..
    .#.1.

    Solution:
    231#1
    12#23
    3#312
    Note that N = 3 as the longest run is 3 cells in row 1, column 1, or column 5. The white cells in the rows are broken by black cells.

    chaotic_iak

    February 13, 2013 at 2:55 pm


Leave a Reply

