anderson's Puzzle Blog

Puzzle 9: Arrow Sudoku

leave a comment »

Follow normal Sudoku rules, with the additional requirement that each circled digit must equal the sum of all digits in its corresponding arrow’s path. Note that digits can repeat within an arrow.

Notes: I didn’t get Matt to testsolve this one because I couldn’t finish constructing it during 11th period study hall, so I only retried it once. I’m fairly sure it has a unique solution, unless I did something stupid (which is pretty likely given my tiredness today). This puzzle might also be a bit hard, but I suppose it would still be good preparation for the upcoming LMI test.

The theme: The arrows spell out pi (with two extra arrows in the middle), and the 5 givens in the 1st, 4th, 5th, 6th, and 8th boxes are similarly the corresponding digits of pi. I guess I could have given you more pi digits to begin with, but then it would be too easy! :p

Written by qzqxq

September 9, 2011 at 11:09 pm

Posted in Puzzles!, Sudoku, Variations

Leave a Reply

